Enter Sandman

Tonight, the adaptability of the mother-and-son team was challenged.

My candidates were scheduled for client interview so that meant staying in the office until 11:00 PM. I really don’t have any problem with that since I get paid for overtime work. Tonight was different though, since my son was with me. This was the first time he had to stay in the office beyond the usual working hours. Mama was in Cavite and my son still does not have a nanny so no one will be left at home with him. My boss was worried about the set-up’ she felt bad for Josh but I assured her that my son is as low-maintenance as his Nanay. I figured he would just just sleep on the sofa while I worked.

However, I forgot two very important details: 1. my son detests sleeping with the lights on, and 2. he did not take his afternoon nap today. Apparently, he went with Aaron when the latter went to Glorietta to meet up with his college friend, Julan. Aside from talking their ears off, my manipulative son cajoled the guys into bringing him to Timezone. Then they went to Starbucks. Lord knows the amount of sugar they consumed while they were there. A few minutes after 4:00 PM, Aaron called me to tell me they were downstairs so I brought my son to our HR office and let him play games on the computer.

At 7:00 PM, he was already raising the white flag. “Nanay, antok na ako.” he said. I asked if he was willing to sleep on the sofa and he said it was okay but when we got to the reception area, I remembered that I can’t turn out the lights. We proceeded to the “chill-out” room and he settled on the cushions. Almost thirty minutes had gone by and he still wasn’t asleep. I also felt a tantrum coming on.

I was about to concede to the thought that I would not be able to get any work done for the remainder of the evening but then I got struck by a flash of brilliance. I recalled that when he was a few months old, we accidentally found out that Metallica’s “Enter Sandman” would immediately put him to sleep.

Eventually, we discovered that he also liked Razorback and Korn. I wasn’t really sure if Lars Ulrich and the gang would still have the same effect on Josh but I was running out of options, so I got my cellphone, played Enter Sandman and whaddya know, his eyes were closed by the middle part of the song. When it ended, he mumbled “Isa pa”, so I played Wolfgang’s “Arise”.

And just like that, my baby was sound asleep.

7 thoughts on “Enter Sandman

    1. Hahaha! Maski pala yung anak ni Prof. Heger. She said “of course, we teach them the classics”. Di bale, Memeys. Maski yung mga gusto mong music ituturo ko sa kanya para well-rounded siya.

  1. Pam, I remembered when I took Kikay with me last week in the office, she oh so wanted to go home, she put her winter stuff on, carried both my bags-my laptop bag & my handbag, and went to the door & said…Mommy, COME ON! WE ARE GOING! I hope Yeoshie had a good sleep.

Thoughts?

